Australasian Biotechnology (backfiles)
ISSN: 1036-7128
Vol. 11, Num. 2, 2001, pp. 21-22
Untitled Document

Australasian Biotechnology, Vol. 11 No. 2, 2001, pp. 21-22


Code Number: au01023


The Committee of the NSW Branch of the ABA continues in 2001 as originally elected. Office bearers are Peter Gray (Chair), Rachel Shepherd (Secretary), David Irving (Meetings Secretary) and Phil Lehrbach (Treasurer), and other Committee members are Charles Bailey, Andrew Baker, Chris Blanchard, Tim Littlejohn, Bengt Norrman, Noelle-Anne Sunstrom and Neil Willetts. Elections for a new Committee are due to be held later this year.

A number of meetings are planned for 2001.

Currently, these include:

  • n 5 April: Visit to the new facilities of Gradipore Ltd
  • n June: Meeting on the new legislation for Regulatory Affairs
  • n 15-17 August: Joint CHIF/ABA Meeting, Sydney Hilton
  • n August: Joint ABA/ASC Meeting: Science in the Pub
  • n October: Visit to Proteome Systems Ltd
  • n Nov/Dec: Launch of Deloitte’s 2001 Biotech Index &
  • n Christmas Party

Niel Willetts


“The Canberra Region Branch had two meetings on 7 March, both featuring Ms Sam O’Connor of Pfizer Inc. Sam has a background in medical research and moved in to the pharmaceutical industry in 1996, when she joined the Australian Pharmaceutical Manufacturers Association (APMA). At the APMA Sam helped address scientific, medical, clinical, regulatory and technical matters on behalf of the industry. From there she moved to Pfizer to establish its Australian medical investment program.

Sam first addressed local industry and researchers at a roundtable discussing relationships between big pharma and biotech firms.

After lunch, she spoke to a broader group about Pfizer’s participation in the Australian Government’s Pharmaceutical Investment Incentive Program (PIIP), which runs from 1999-2004. Pfizer has committed to increasing its R&D and production value added (PVA) by at least $194 million during this period.

Under PIIP the company is also committed to expanding its activities to include a focus on early R&D. Sam provided an overview of Pfizer’s expanded activities in pharmaceuticals and biotechnology to date. About 30 people attended the two sessions.

The next function for the Canberra region branch will be the awarding of the inaugural Canberra Region Biotechnology Honours Prize on 19 April. This date has been chosen to coincide with the graduation dates at local universities and this year has been sponsored by the ACT Chief Minister’s Department. The Hon Brendan Smyth, Minister for Business Tourism and the Arts, will be presenting the prize at a function at ANU.

The next roundtable function will be in May on the topic of bringing companies to IPO.

Lyndal Thorburn Branch Chair


The Queensland Branch of the ABA has operated since 1996.

After elections in late 2000, eleven members were elected to the Queensland Branch Committee.

They are:

In 2001, the committee will work to:

  • provide networking opportunities for ABA members and industry participants, through the BioIndustry breakfasts (four in the year);
  • broaden the geographical spread of ABA’s activities to Townsville, Toowoomba and other centres;
  • undertake thorough analysis of the ABA Queensland membership profile and member needs using surveys and informal meetings;
  • communicate to the broader community through National Science Week activities (10th to 13th May);
  • increase ABA’s involvement in university undergraduate and post-graduate programs and increase the involvement of students in ABA’s activities;
  • deliver our experiences with ABA2000 to the planning committee for ABA2002 in Melbourne;
  • support the goals of the ABA nationally, through our efforts in Queensland and northern New South Wales.


We would like to welcome the following new members to the ABA, who have joined since our last issue:

  • Dr Alistair Cowden Exodus Ltd (Corporate)
  • Mr Allan Morrison BSD Technologies International
  • Ms Michelle Naughton MM Management Pty Ltd
  • Mr Christopher Booth University of Queensland (Student)
  • Dr Mike Hirshorn Nanyang Ventures Pty Ltd
  • Ms Julie Rothacker Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
  • Mr Bradley Hinton Rabo Australia Ltd
  • Mr John Keeves Johnson Winter & Slattery
  • Mr Jeff Bergmann Arthur Robinson & Hedderwicks (Corporate)
  • Ms Filomena Leonardi Heidrick & Struggles
  • Mr Leo D’Angelo Fisher Stratcom Communique Australia
  • Ms Sanghee Park Gaachi Pty Ltd
  • Mr Henry Lin University of Queensland (Student)
  • Miss Suzy Baxter Davidson Recruitment
  • Dr Jeremy Jowett International Diabetes Institute
  • Mr Simon Tan Deutsche Bank
  • Dr Eric Meyer SciGen
  • Mr Roger Falconer-Flint
  • Dr Darren Grubb Queensland Investment Corporation
  • Dr Pippa Carron
  • Mr Simon Ip Cho Murdoch University (Student)
  • Dr Mark Santini
  • Mr Arjuna Kumarasuriyar University of Queensland (Student)
  • Dr Robert Don Progen Industries
  • Ms Jane Sheridan Arnold Bloch Leibler (Corporate)
  • Dr Robyn Heath University of Melbourne
  • Miss Kathryn Jacobs University of Queensland (Student)
  • Dr Calum McKinlay Allco Fell
  • Mr Hugh Ilyine Stem Cell Sciences Ltd
  • Mr David Thomson University of Queensland (Student)
  • Dr Gerald Haaima CSIRO Livestock Industries
  • Mr Jeff Bryant BD Medical Systems
  • Ms Katrina Chambers Flower & Hart Solicitors
  • Mr Greg McKenzie Human Capital Partners Pty Limited (Corporate)
  • Ms Anne Hayward Investor Relations Strategies Pty Ltd
  • Ms Barbara Coat Minter Ellison

Copyright 2001 - AusBiotech

© Bioline International, 1989 - 2004, Site last up-dated on 03-Ago-2006.