Indexes: [ by Poet | by Title | by First Line | by Keyword | Timeline | Calendar | Introduction | Glossary of poetic terms and forms | Criticism on poetry | Canadian Poetry | the RPO Edition ]

Representative Poetry On-line
Editor, I. Lancashire; Publisher
Web Development Group, Information Technology Services
University of Toronto Library 2000.

Representative Poetry Selected and Annotated for Class Use in the University of Toronto. Second and Enlarged Edition. University of Toronto Press, 1916. [Owned by the present editor; formerly owned by Beatrice M. Turner, St. Hilda's College]


If a student is accustomed to read the selections prescribed for his university course in fairly complete editions of the poets--such as are now often available in single volumes--he will form a truer conception of their significance than if he uses exclusively such a collection as this. But economy, convenience in class use, and the need of at least a minimum of annotation make a volume of selections desirable. The character of the present volume has been determined by definite practical--sometimes even by local--considerations. It neither covers the whole of English poetry nor is it an anthology of the best poems. The exclusion of an author or poem may be due to the amount of explanation desirable (e.g. Chaucer), or to the excessive length of works which do not tend themselves to extracts and should be read as wholes (e.g. the books of the Faerie Queene), or to restrictions of copyright (e.g., the later poems of Tennyson and Morris). The extracts have been chosen as in some aspect or other representative. In certain cases the representation of a writer is fairly adequate; in others the selections are intended rather to exemplify general tendencies than to give a conception of an individual poet's work. The notes--necessarily very brief--are intended to save the student some of the labour of consulting books of reference, and the instructor some of the tedious and unsatisfactory work of detailed explanation. In most cases the purpose is to assist in the mere understanding of the text, but sometimes it has been deemed expedient to afford information rather of an historical and critical character.

W. J. A.

W. H. C.




Sir Thomas Wyatt (1503-1542) Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey (1517- 1547) Thomas Sackville, Lord Buckhurst (1536-1608) George Gascoigne (1526?-1577) Edmund Spenser (1552?-1599) Sir Philip Sidney (1564-1586) Thomas Lodge (1558-1625) Robert Greene (1560?-1692) Christopher Marlowe (1564-1593) William Warner (1558?-1609) Samuel Daniel (1562-1619) Michael Drayton (1563-1631) William Shakespeare (1564-1616) Anonymous Lyrics Thomas Campion (C. 1575-1620) George Chapman (1559?-1634) John Marston (1575-1634) Joseph Hall (1674-1666) Ben Jonson (1673-1637) John Donne (1573-1631) Giles Fletcher (1688-1623) Phineas Fletcher (1582-1650) William Brown (1591-1643) George Herbert (1693-1633) Richard Crashaw (1613?-1649) Robert Herrick (1691-1674) Henry Vaughan (1622-1695) Thomas Traherne (1636?-1674) Thomas Carew (1598?-1639?) Sir John Suckling (1609-1642) Richard Lovelace (1618-1658) John Cleveland (1613-1658) Edmund Waller (1606-1687) Sir John Denham (1615-1669) Abraham Cowley (1618-1667) Andrew Marvell (1620-1678) John Milton (1608-1674) John Dryden (1631-1700) Charles Sackville, Earl of Dorset (1638-1706) Sir Charles Sedley (1639-1701) John Wilmot, Earl of Rochester Matthew Prior (1664-1721) Jonathan Swift (1667-1745) Alexander Pope (1688-1744) Thomas Parnell (1679-1718) Thomas Tickell (1686-1740) James Thomson (1700-1748) Edward Young (1683-1765) Robert Blair (1699-1746) William Shenstone (1714-1763) William Collins (1721-1759) Thomas Gray (1716-1771) Oliver Goldsmith (1728-1774) Mark Akenside (1721-1770) William Cowper (1731-1800) Thomas Chatterton (1752-1770) Robert Burns (1759-1796) William Blake (1757-1827) George Crabbe (1754-1832) William Wordsworth (1770-1850) Samuel Taylor Coleridge (1772-1834) Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832) George Gordon, Lord Byron (1788-1824) Percy Bysshe Shelley (1792-1822) John Keats (1795-1821) Alfred Tennyson (1809-1892) Robert Browning (1812-1889) Matthew Arnold (1822-1888) Dante Gabriel Rossetti (1828-1882) William Morris (1834-1896)